Chocolate Ancho Creme Brulee

I was looking for a recipe to complement a Mexican Feast, and this chocolate ancho creme brulee ticked both that box, and the ‘i don’t use my brulee torch nowhere near enough’ box as well. I had planned on taking some photos while we torched them, but in the heat of the moment,  I totally forgot about photographing, and concentrated on eating instead. Still, these brulee were soooo rich,  that there were some leftovers that I got a shot of this morning.

Some comments on the recipe:  I  really don’t think boiling the cream with a cinnamon stick for 5 minutes really imparted any cinnamon  flavour to the cream.  I’m not sure I’d bother next time. The custard is really easy – in that you don’t actually make custard, just mix the egg yolks through the chocolate/cream mix and then bake, and I might try this with other brulees in future as it really does cut down the prep time. I’m not sure if it’s because I just used the chilli powder I had in my cupboard, rather than  ground ancho chile pepper, but I didn’t get much (any?) chilli kick from these – I might add more in future.  Then again,  the recipe does call for ~120 g of chocolate and I decided to just put in the whole 200g block I’d bought, which maybe drowned out the chilli flavour  :-).  I’d probably also prepare more cinnamon sugar for the top next time (maybe 3 tbps worth?) as the sugar layer was relatively thin on top.  How authentically Mexican is it actually?  No idea, but still very tasty 🙂

Chocolate-Ancho Creme Brulee

Leave a Reply

