A Study in Pink

Beetroot Hummus

 

This beetroot hummus is just so CHEERFUL.  It’s rare that I  spread something so brilliantly magenta on my breakfast toast.

Recipe:
250 g dried chick peas
1 large onion chopped
500g beetroot
1/2 cup tahini
3 cloves garlic
1/4 cup lemon juice
1 tbsp ground cumin
1/2 cup oil

Put the chick peas in a large bowl, cover with cold water and soak overnight. Drain.  Place the chick peas and onion in a large heavy-based pan.  Cook for an hour until chickpeas are very soft.  Drain, reserving 1 cup of cooking liquid; allow to cool. Cook the beetroot in a large pan of boiling water until tender.  Drain and allow to cool slightly before removing the skins.

Chop the beetroot roughly and place in a food processor.  Add the chickpea and onion mixture, tahini, garlic, lemon juice and cumin; process until smooth.  Slowly add reserve cooking liquid and oil whilst the machine is running.  Process until the mixture is thoroughly combined.

My alterations:
Couldn’t be bothered cooking chickpeas so I roughly estimated that one 400g tin would be 125g dry chickpeas.  I think, to be honest,  I really needed a higher chickpea to beetroot ratio,  because when I combined with 300 g boiled beetroot,  it seemed darker and less hummus-y than i expected – which is not a bad thing, just an observation.  Also,  even after ‘halving’ the recipe,  this makes a HUUUUGE amount of dip.  If I was making this again for my own day-to-day use, rather than for large scale catering,  I’d probably halve the amount again.

Because i didn’t boil the chick peas,  I  cooked the onion in with the beetroot and I think that worked fine (I didn’t bother peeling the beetroot). I only ended up using a splash of olive oil and reserved liquid at the end, so I’d definitely be careful about adding that a bit at a time rather than all in on fell swoop. Nom.

 

(Any thanks to the new Sherlock Homes series for the title of this post  :-))

4 thoughts on “A Study in Pink

  1. Thank you for this recipe K. It was a big hit at my Girl’s Night In last Friday. It was so BIG (as you warned, in quantity) and PURPLE in my red bowl. I halved the beetroot ratio, to get it more hummusy, which worked, however I think was too hummusy. So next time I’ll go for something in between… and I’ll actually try cooking the chickpeas the night before as I’m sure that must make a difference of sorts.

    I love your food blog too! I am so looking forward to having a go at that chocolate cake!
    A.

  2. Hi I made this again, this time the ‘right’ way (i.e. deciding the night before and soaking the dried chickpeas o’night). I think it made a smoother consistency hummus. I split the hummus mixture in half, making beetroot hummus with one portion and a basil hummus (inspired by Hey Pesto!) with the other (1 cup of coarsly ground basil 1 tbs basil pesto processed with the hummus). Froze half of each for impromptu picnics, and took the rest to the outdoor cinema. My friends absolutely devoured the basil hummus. It was a massive hit, outshinig Pinkie.

    • Wow – pesto hommous is a great idea!! I commend your commitment to soaking chickpeas – I’ll try to get some on the weekend and give that a go too.

Leave a Reply

