Adventures in Slowcooking: Spiced Red Cabbage

I got a slow cooker for my birthday and I’ve been enjoying using it for the past month or two*.  It was also (of course)  an excellent excuse to get another cookbook, and I picked up Ulitmate Slowcooker by Sara Lewis a couple of weeks ago. And the first thing I made from the book was spicy red cabbage, on Friday:

Spicy Red Cabbage

Ingredients:

1 tbsp oil
1 large onion
450 mL hot vegetable or chicken stock (chicken for me)
3 tbsp balsamic vinegar
2 tbsp thick set honey
1 tbsp tomato puree
1 tsp fennel seeds, roughly crushed (I used cumin and I didn’t crush)
1/2 tsp crushed dried chilies
625g red cabbage, cored and thinly sliced (this was abotu 1/4 of a cabbage for me)
2  dessert apples, cored and diced
50 g raisins (I used sultanas)

Heat the oil in the large frying pan, add the onion and fry, stirring, for 5 minutes until lightly browned.  Stir in the stock, vinegar, honey, tomato puree, fennel ( cumin seeds) and crushed dried chillies and then pour into the slow cooker.  Add the shredded cabbage, apples and raisins.  Season well with salt and pepper (didn’t add),  mix together, then cover with the lid and cook on high for 2.5-3.5 hours until the cabbage is tender.

(I misread this and it was on low for ~3 hours,  and then high for 1.5 hours.  It seemed to be ok  🙂

I serve the cabbage with a pork loin roast (with crackling!) and crispy roast potatoes.  The cabbage is quite sweet – from the honey and sultanas – but also quite hot,  thanks to the chillies. It was a great foil to the pork, and the potatoes were great for soaking up the juices. It doesn’t smell as fanastic as my other favourite red cabbage recipe (from Nigella Lawson’s Feast – the wine and oranges make the one smell like mulled wine), but I’ll definitely be making it again.

*We had this barbecue chicken a few weeks ago and it was very good!

Leave a Reply

