Homemade Yoghurt

I’ve had an Easiyo yoghurt maker for a couple of years now.  It’s an easy way to make yoghurt – buy a packet of powder, dissolve it in cold water, and stick it in an Easiyo thermos filled with boiled water.  The yoghurt that generally comes out is pretty well (I’ve had a few liquidy ones)  and it’s a couple of dollars cheaper than buying a good pot-set yoghurt (my yog of choice is normally Mundella).

However,  I’ve always wondered if I could use the Easiyo setup to make yoghurt from scratch – i.e. from milk and a bit of yoghurt, but never got round to researching it or finding a recipe.

However!!

On the weekend,  I was looking through one of my neglected asian cookbooks (I need to make more curries) and, lo, came across a recipe for yoghurt that involved milk only, plus a bit of yoghurt:

Boil 1L milk in a pan and keep aside til luke warm. Ad 10 g yoghurt to the milk and mix well.  Keep aside to set in a warm place for 6-8 hours. Once set, refrigerate to chill.

Cut, then, to the supermarket,  where 2L bottles of milk were 2 for $6. My other didn’t want 4L milk, and I find it hard to get through 1L before it goes off, let alone two. However,  I thought I could try making yoghurt with the other litre. I didn’t really expect it to work (particularly given it was Hilo), but  – hey –  at least the milk was cheap(ish). Anyway,  I boiled up my milk last night, and left it to cool in the Easiyo pot.  I think it was a bit hotter than luke warm when I  mixed in a dessert spoon of yoghurt (about 25g) and put it in the thermos (with hot water in it) but it was midnight and I was needing to get to bed.  And… this morning… it looked like I had yoghurt!

Homemade yoghurt

I popped it in the fridge to set and investigated it after I got back from work.  There’s a lot of ‘whey’ in the pot, which I mostly tipped out, but the rest is a really nice yoghurty-yoghurt.  Now,  I have no idea whether this recipe is robust and reproducible – or I just happened to get lucky first time.  I’ll definitely be trying again – possibly with full fat milk to see how that goes ( though I like low fat yoghurt and I’m really quite happy eating what I’ve made).  If it all works out I may well be buying more 2L bottles of milk in the future!

2 thoughts on “Homemade Yoghurt

  1. That’s pretty much the same recipe I used for yoghurt in my thermomix, which worked well. My recipe included some skim milk powder to thicken it up some more. I had housemates back in the day who regularly made their own yoghurt using the same basic recipe but using just a large jar, a foam easy, and an incandescent light bulb to keep it warm.

Leave a Reply

