Low Fat Chocolate Cake

Yes,  I know this sounds like an oxymoron, but on the weekend I made a chocolate cake that was not only low fat, but also deliciously moist and muddy. I’m not normally into substituting high fat foods with a low fat version.  The low fat versions are rarely as satisfying and in the extreme can lead to side effects like anal leakage. (I’m fairly confident this cake won’t do that to you).

However, this cake sounded interesting and possibly delicious in it’s own right so I thought I’d give it a try.  The recipe is from the November 2008 edition of Australian Good Food, which I have a subscription to thanks to a competition I won involving cheese (yay cheese). As normal I was unable to follow the recipe as intended because I’m just not built that way.  My deviations and comments are in pink.

Chocolate cherry cake

100g good quality dark chocolate, chopped (Lindt 85% was on special in Coles)
1 cup (220 g) brown sugar
1/2 cup (50 g) cocoa
1/2 cup (125 mL) boiling water
2 egg yolks
2/3 cup (100 g) wholemeal plain flour (I used spelt flour cos that’s what I had)
4 egg whites (I had 4 frozen egg whites in my freezer and so replaced the 2 egg yolks above with one whole egg. If that makes sense…)
2 1/2 cups (310g) pitted fresh or frozen cherries (I used a 325g tin of black cherries, drained*)
1 apple grated (
I was undecided but took skin off)

Preheat oven to 180 deg C or 160 deg C fan. Line base and sides of 20 cm square pan with baking paper (I lined bottom, but wouldn’t bother next time). Place chocolate, sugar, cocoa and boiling water in a bowl. Stir, set aside for 2 minutes, then stir again until smooth (I merely broke my chocolate up into large flat squares because I am lazy and therefore had trouble getting it to melt.  Please chop yours up smaller). Whisk in egg yolks (in my case 1 whole egg), then fold in flour.
Beat egg whites with an electric mixer until firm peaks form (mine didn’t – not sure why but cake did not seem to suffer for it).  Fold through chocolate mixture. Fold in cherries and apple. Spoon into prepared pan.  Bake for 35 minutes, until a skewer inserted comes out clean (I always wibble over whether the skewer is clean or not and reckon I could have taken it out a couple of minutes earlier than I did.  My oven, which is slow and cold, took about 45 minutes).  Cool in a pan cut into squares (We had wedges, mostly cos I used a round tin).

This cake has 937 kj, 5g protein, 5 g total fat, 40g carbs, 2g fibre, and 47 mg sodium (versus 1750 kj and 25g fat for a typical chocolate cake).  I would say that if you didn’t know that it was low fat, you’d never notice.

*And – word to the wise – if you are undecided about whether to keep the cherry syrup becasue – I don’t know – it might make a nice drink or something, then at least put it in a well sealed jar or something.  Keeping an upright and open can of cherry syrup in the fridge will only lead to one thing – SPILLAGE. I speak from experience 🙂

One thought on “Low Fat Chocolate Cake

  1. I hear the egg white whipping thing can be impeded by the slightest trace of fat (e.g. from a bit of broken yolk in the mix, or oil/butter on whisk or bowl). I haven’t tested this though.

    Must bake more!

Leave a Reply

