Review: Toast

I’m a big fan of breakfast. I’ll happily eat breakfast for most meals and, while this technically does include the bowl of cereal the I might eat for dinner on occasion, what I’m really talking about¬† is some variant of eggs, bacon, and bread.

Enter Toast, a delicious accompaniment to eggs and bacon, and a cafe down by Claisebrook Cove that serves all-day breakfast (plus other stuff). Claisebrook Cove is a quietly buzzing location on a Saturday afternoon (thanks mainly to the many patrons at the Royal).  We were there on a lovely sunny day, although it was *seriously* windy Рa table next door lost their umbrella, whilst we almost lost our table number. Toast has a quaint retro feel, with mis-matched chairs and tables, a handwritten menu (plus specials backboard),  and a trio of tubs filled with herbs nestled amongst the tables outside.

Sunrise Juice Corn cakes and bacon

I chose the cheesy scrambled eggs, with tomatoes and toasted rye bread, and didn’t even miss my usual bacon (I had considered ordering it as a side). The eggs were luscious and creamy, though I was expecting the cheese to be more fully incorporated into the eggs, rather than added after scrambling.¬† Thus to me they were scrambled eggs with melted cheese, rather than cheesy scrambled eggs, though they were still delish.¬† The rye toast was dark and savory and the roma tomatoes well roasted/grilled.¬† My dining companions both chose the corn cakes with bacon (made with real corn-off-the-cob) and came with lashings of bacon. Add in a delicious sunrise juice (grapefruit and cranberry), plus a very drinkable latte, and my breakfast was complete!

Details: Toast,  Shop 21 / 60 Royal St East Perth, 6004 (on the waterfront behind Royal Street) Phone: (08) 9221 0771

Service: It’s a cafe – you order and pay at the counter. However, food came out quickly and staff were friendly.

Food: I can think of one or two other places that do a better breakfast around Perth, but Toast’s breakfast was pretty good. Toast also has a wide array of lunch options, as well as muffins and such, however I think I’ll find it hard to leave the breakfast menu to try anything else.

Price: Breakfast mains were about $15 – not cheap but certainly comparable to other Perth establishments. With a coffee and a juice, my brunch came to just over $25.

Conclusion: I would happily eat breakfast at Toast again. In particular I’d be interested in trying the corn cakes *or*  the french toast *or* the crepes (or perhaps something else). Parking wasn’t as painful as when I went to Bradley’s (which is literally next door to Toast), but I did park a little further afar this time.

Rating: 7.5/10

Toast on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

